Bucket Lists and Why You Should Make One

 

I made my very first bucket list at the age of 10, because I did not know English very well at the time, and I had just learned what a “bucket list” meant. I assumed it was a list about buckets, like actual buckets, and potentially ….their diversity? I was quite surprised at the actual meaning. I had mediocre things on my bucket list then, such as meeting Dylan and Cole Sprouse from the Suite Life, or going to a concert. Needless to say, I have updated it since then and made it a whole lot more fun and meaningful.

I believe that everyone should take the time to make a bucket list because it not only makes you realize what you truly want to accomplish in life before you die, but it might actually push you towards prioritizing your dreams and goals and actually trying achieve them now rather than later. You should think about what you want to accomplish in life before you die, but you should also try to experience and accomplish things on a smaller scale everyday as well. You can try to experience something new and marvelous every day, every week, every month, and every year. One cannot simply wait for the right moment to experience the life they truly want. We are not guaranteed each and every day, so I personally believe in “carpe diem” and making things happen as soon as possible.

I have achieved a few of the things on my bucket list since I last updated it, and I will be crossing off the travel parts of it in the Fall of 2016, since I will be studying abroad in the UK. If you would like to know what is on my bucket list currently, you can look below:

  • Go on the Ellen Show
  • Be in 2 places at once
  • Go to a fashion show in NY
  • Swim with/ touch a dolphin
  • Receive a scholarship
  • Learn to sail
  • Visit the Blue Lagoon in Iceland
  • Go to Zion National Park
  • Go to Antelope Canyon AZ
  • Go to Horseshoe Bend AZ
  • Go to Edge of the World in AZ
  • Get a tattoo
  • Meet a celebrity
  • Get accepted to college
  • Graduate High School with Honors
  • Sky dive
  • Go horseback riding
  • Learn to drive stick shift
  • Travel out of the country
  • Go on a hot air balloon ride
  • Visit the MET Museum
  • Buy a house
  • Get a pet
  • Visit the Smithsonian
  • Own a Dodge Challenger
  • Get married
  • Donate to a charity
  • Get a Master’s degree
  • Go to Law school
  • Go to Italy
  • Go to the UK
  • Go to Paris
  • Go to Hawaii
  • Cliff dive

I hope you all create your own bucket lists if you do not already have one, and I also hope you create goals for yourselves each and everyday. As long as you work hard and prioritize, you WILL be able to accomplish them.

-Giulia

Leave a Reply

