Ways to Improve Your Morning Routine

IMG_2453

For me, the hardest part of the day is usually waking up and actually getting out of bed in time to eat breakfast ( I sometimes faint if I don’t eat something as soon as I wake up) before class. I have noticed that every time I sleep in and only leave myself about 20 minutes before my first class, I tend to forget important items I needed in my backpack that day, or things that I really had to do before classes. Surprisingly, I have also found that I become grumpy. Usually when people get more sleep they tend to be much happier, but since I don’t leave myself the proper amount of time to wake up when I do that, I feel more rushed and stressed out. Therefore, during the past few months I have revamped my morning routine in order to make the most out of my day as soon as I wake up. At the moment, this is how it goes:

  1. I wake up around 8:00 am (my first class is at 9:35 am, and on Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays my first class is at 2:20 pm) mostly every day. I try to wake up an hour or a few hours “before the world can hit”, as my boyfriend’s mom once phrased it, everyday. I’ve learned the hard way that I need to banish the snooze button. I actually used to wake up around 5:25 am every day in high school with no problem, but after starting college… that’s just not going to happen. I settled for 8 am instead. I usually sit in my comfortable little bed for a minute, check all of my social media and text messages, and then I stumble out trying not to fall off of the ladder (my dorm bed is raised). I rush towards my bathroom and before I even wash my face and brush my teeth, I like to immediately drink a full glass of cold water. This hydrates the body and has a major impact on energy levels. Right after, I start the coffee maker.
  2. After brushing my teeth and getting ready, I make my way over to my desk or the lounge in my dorm building because I enjoy the early morning sun rays. While I eat my breakfast, I usually make my to do list/schedule for the day, or add anything I forgot last night to my planner. If I don’t eat breakfast inside, I usually go to my university’s Union with my boyfriend and we have breakfast there.
  3. Afterwards, if it’s a Monday/ Wednesday/ Friday/Saturday/Sunday, I go do the dreaded workout. On my floor we have an exercise room and there are multiple elliptical machines, arc trainers, and bikes to choose from. The best part about the room, in my opinion, is the huge HD TV.  I usually go on the elliptical for about 20 minutes ( on level 7 you burn about 160-200 calories) and then head back to my room.
  4. If I have any errands to run, homework to finish up, or anything else in that category, I usually go ahead and do it right after I work out. If not, I read. I have found that this has helped me become more productive and more focused during my work throughout the day. I read anything from my Accounting book in order to get ahead, to inspirational quotes, to DIY/health articles, to Gone With the Wind since I am determined to finish it. I read 80% of it 3 years ago, but I had to stop and didn’t pick it up again until recently. I believe that if you take the time to do this everyday, not only will you learn new information,but you will naturally be more in sync with what is going on around you, and might even feel more peaceful and relaxed. 
  5. Lastly, I try to stay in a positive mindset and focus not only on the tasks I have to perform that day, but on being happy, motivated, and peaceful. As a college student that can be hard sometimes, but I found that the less I worry and stick to this routine, the better I feel and the more I accomplish. If YOUR morning routine just so happens to fail completely that day, don’t give up for the rest of the day. Be happy, make another To-Do List, and remember that tomorrow is a new day. 

I hope that reading about how I changed up my morning routine to make the most out of my day has helped you in some way, and if it did not, I truly hope that you end up creating a unique morning routine that fits YOU and YOUR beautiful and busy life. 🙂

-Giulia

 

 

Leave a Reply

