Goals for my 20s…Not just 2017.

 

ed6e501e7c7df6027bd72458ba615578

I recently turned 20 in November of 2016. It feels really unusual to tell people that I’m no longer a teen. I still forget that I’m not in high school …now I’m 20 too? It’s really nerve-wracking to me that I’m part of the 20s club, because it official means I’m an adult. Yes, you are declared an adult when you turn 18 in most places, but in the States you’re not really an adult until your 20s…specifically when you’re 21. I’m a year away from that. Im two years away from graduating university. I graduated high school, like, yesterday. Right? Maybe not, but it sure does feel that way. I decided that since I have entered a new decade of life, I need to revise my goals and priorities in life. Mainly, I decided to make a list of things that I find important to me. I wanted to make this list to remind myself of what I want to enjoy in the next ten years, and to just get some good stuff done before I get too mixed up in paying student loans,working for my future supervisor, advancing in my career, then getting married and reproducing.

  • Don’t let compliments get to my head, and don’t let criticism get to my heart. I think this is a must with the career I’m pursuing in business, or eventually law, and in regards to the woman I’m trying to become. I’ve also failed at understanding this advice previously in my teens, especially the criticism part in regards to school and competition, and I hope to fix that in my 20s.
  • Ride a hot air balloon. It’s been a dream since I was a child, and it only cost 200 bucks. Worth it.
  • Buy a car.
  • Go skydiving. Also a very fun adventure that’s worth around 200 bucks, and I might die with this one, but it’s still kind of worth it if I survive.
  • Go visit 7 more European countries…preferably Prague, Sweden, Austria, Croatia, Denmark, Iceland,and Poland. (See my previous travel posts in the “Adventures” section of my blog.)
  • Get a pet…I’m starting with a sweet little beta fish this month.
  • Stop worrying about things I cannot change about other people. This mostly has to do with family members and people who I worry about when I really shouldn’t.
  • Stop thinking I can change people. I noticed I see the good in a lot of people, even when they’re so clearly selfish or judgmental, but the more realistic I become, the less stress and heartache I get from caring about other people’s traits. If they want to change for the better, they will. If they don’t, then it’s really not my problem anymore.
  • Stop being scared of failing at things.
  • Visit New York. Dream since I came out of the womb I think?
  • Move to a new place…maybe New York since I want to graduate from NYU eventually.
  • Exercise more. Even if it’s just a 20 minute walk.
  • Get better at yoga and at reading what my body is trying to tell me. No, this isn’t part of my “exercise more” goal. I’ve been doing yoga for about 2 years now ,on and off weekly, and it’s really helped me out mentally and physically. I have more goals in regards to bettering myself through yoga, and I’m afraid that after I graduate NAU at 22 (where I first started my yoga classes), I might not keep up with it after.
  • Get started with my career in a company that embodies progressiveness and entrepreneurship. Too many people accept working for horrible people, just so they can receive a nice salary. I look for more than just money and benefits, and I hope to find a place that has the same goals as me.
  • Get a Master’s or a Law degree…or both.
  • Go to more concerts, and have more crazy nights with friends and people I love.
  • Finish my list of classic novels.
  • Go volunteer in more political organizations and events.

I hope to keep all of this up. I guess I can just remind myself of this blog post and make sure I do it all haha. Thank you for reading.

-Giulia 🙂

Leave a Reply

